Iowa Scriptwriters Alliance


Five Des Moines-area writers founded The Iowa Scriptwriters Alliance (ISA) in May 1997. Today, ISA membership includes over thirty professional and part-time scriptwriters from across Iowa. Some are accomplished playwrights and screenwriters and others are aspiring writers.


ISA-member playwrights have had their plays performed on stages across the country. Screenwriter members have garnered awards and some have had their scripts produced and screened.


ISA special events have included performances of six member-written plays at Living History Farms in central Iowa, and filming of three member-written short screenplays. Monthly ISA programs and workshops for members build and enhance writing skills. Industry professionals bring insight to marketing, refining, protecting and enhancing scripts.


Organized readings of members' scripts provide evaluation and commentary from other members.


Script development, from initial ideas to polished final drafts, is supported through continuous review and encouragement from fellow members. The goal of this website is to provide a source for up-to-date information on meetings, events, resources and member accomplishments.


Most importantly, the Iowa Scriptwriters Alliance has provided Iowa scriptwriters with access to and support from other scriptwriters. All are in the ISA to teach, learn and perfect the art and craft of scriptwriting. 

An organization dedicated to improving the art and craft of scriptwriters through education, communication and participation.

~ 20 YEARS ~

The Iowa Scriptwriters Alliance was born in May, 1997.
We're celebrating 20 years of camaraderie and are looking forward to seeing what the next 20 years bring. Tell us what you'd like to see from the ISA going forward!

2017–2019 ISA BOARD

Elected July 15, 2017 at our Annual Meeting


President: Caleb Harris

Vice President: Gabriel Tejeda-Benitez

Secretary: Renee Warner

Treasurer: Andrew McDowell

Member Chairman: Michael E. Berg

Additional Board Members: 
Wes Worthing
Sean Gannon
Robert Dopf
Jacob Alexander Krause

Karen Hight
Alexander Dingeman

"The Disaster Artist"

Saturday, December 9
 Wynnsong 16 in Johnston, IA


Join your fellow ISA members to go see "The Disaster Artist," based on the book of the same title by Greg Sestero, about the story behind and making of 2003's "The Room,"  arguably the worst movie of all time.

See the ISA's Facebook page for more details.

Open Script Night
Tuesday, December 19
Urbandale Public Library




This website is created and hosted by's Site Builder.